
1  

Brady News & Updates 
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04/01/2023 

 
 
 
 
 

The State of Nevada Point of Contact Firearms Program is open 7 days a week, however, we continue to experience a high volume of 
calls. Phone lines are open at 8:00am and will be closed at 4:00pm to allow all calls on hold to be processed by 6:00pm daily. 

 
Faxes are being accepted as an additional means to have background checks conducted. Faxed requests are being entered into the 
system as quickly as possible based on the volume of faxes received that day. Currently, the entry time may take up to three days 
for processing. The three-business day response time begins after the background check has been entered into the system and not 
upon transmission of the faxed 4473. 

 
The faxed 4473 must include the following information for processing: 

• Fax cover sheet that has the following information on it: 
o Employee Name 
o FFL # 
o Phone # 
o Fax # 
o Email address as another means of communication 
o # of backgrounds being sent 
o # of pages included in the fax 
o Also, please send pages 1, 2 and 3 of the 4473 form and ensure its complete and legible. 
o A copy of the person’s driver’s license is helpful but not mandatory. 

 
 

To avoid duplicate billing, do not duplicate by faxing multiple times or faxing and calling in the same background checks. 
 

The fax number is (775) 687-3289 which is on 24x7. You may experience a busy signal on the fax machine. The POC Firearms 
Program staff cannot confirm individual receipt of faxes sent – please set your fax machine program to indicate if your fax has gone 
through and transmission has been completed. 

 
If you are faxing in your 4473’s, it is paramount that they are completed in full with accurate  information.  If  there  is  information 
missing or incorrect information, a Brady examiner will contact you via phone to re-fax the form in. If this happens, the form will be 
placed in the order in which it was received, not at the front of the line. We are unable to alter the forms for you. 

 
Callers are capped at 10 background checks per call to allow other callers on hold to get through during business hours. The phone 
queue is capped to allow staff time to process everyone in queue by the end of the business day. 

Phones are open from 8am-4:00pm and anyone in queue before 4:00pm will remain in queue until staff is able to answer all 
remaining calls in the queue. 
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Additional Information & Reminders... 
 

**Private Party Background Checks** 
 

The  Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS) will no longer refund charges for private party  background checks   if 
the Brady examiner was not notified prior to the background being conducted. Please note, if you fax in your 4473 forms 
and the box  on the first or third (depending on which version of the 4473 that is being used) page is not  checked or it 
is not written on the top of the form, you will be charged $25.00 for the background check. 

**U21 Background Checks** 
 

Due to the passage of the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act of 2022 (hereinafter “Act”), public law 117-159, the Nevada 
Point of Contact Firearms Unit will be required to conduct additional outreach for NICS background checks initiated at a 
federal firearms licensee when the potential firearm transferee/purchaser is under the age of 21. The additional outreach 
is to determine if the person has juvenile criminal/delinquency information or juvenile mental health 
adjudications/commitments that may be disqualifying for the receipt or possession of firearms under subsection (d) of 
Title 18, United States Code, section 922. All purchases that fall into this requirement will be placed on an automatic 
three (3) day delay. Additionally, if there is reason to believe during our initial research that there may be a potential 
disqualifying juvenile record, the Act allows us an additional seven (7) days to complete the research. In conclusion, the 
Act allows these transactions to remain in a delay status for up to ten (10) business days. 

The Nevada Point of Contact Firearms Unit notified all licensees of this upcoming change in procedure so that the 
licensees would be prepared on December 1st, 2022. 

 
Beginning December 1st, 2022, all licensee’s will be asked at the beginning of the call if there are any U21 purchases 
(these are purchases where the subject is under the age of 21) Because the Act requires us to conduct research in the 
jurisdiction where the purchaser resides, we will need to collect the address information of the purchaser at the time of 
the background. 

 
For questions regarding this information, please contact the Point of Contact Firearms Program at 
firearmshelp@dps.state.nv.us. 
 
Please refer customers with questions regarding the status of their firearms background check to our Research Department 
at bradycustomersupport@dps.state.nv.us. 
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